What Happens when an Order of Protection is Violated?

Domestic abuse accusations are taken seriously by the Colorado court system. Violating an order of protection is a class 2 misdemeanor and is punishable by three months to one year in jail, as well as fines ranging from $250 to $1,000. Violation occurs when someone has been served with a protection order and disobeys it by contacting or coming within the specified distance of the person or persons being protected....
Continue reading
  3771 Hits
3771 Hits

What Happens If You Need an Emergency Protective Order in Colorado?

If you have been threatened or harmed by your spouse or domestic partner, you have a right to request a temporary civil order of protection (a restraining order). A civil order of protection is a court order stating the person in question must stay a specific distance away from you and also prevents the person to whom the order is issued to not trespass on certain property. These orders are...
Continue reading
  2511 Hits
2511 Hits

Family Law Protection Orders

Protection orders are a method for preventing contact between people. If a person feels threatened by someone, he or she can request a protection order from the court and the person against whom the order is filed is banned from coming within a certain distance of the protected person or from performing certain acts, such as contacting the protected person. Orders of protection are especially common in cases of spousal...
Continue reading
  2812 Hits
2812 Hits